Wondered if people could give me their opinion.
Yesterday me and my mum went to a family meet up which has a lot of people. The food is communal, people bring different things and it's all put onto one table at 2 different times, lunch and tea. There's a range of vegetarian and omni food. I can eat the salad etc, and this time round my mum brought some things along for me to eat.
My aunt also makes a nut roast for everone, but she makes it with no egg so I can eat it.
However, this time round I heard my aunt say to someone else that the sauce that goes with it (which I have eaten previously), has red wine. Last time i ate it she said it had onions and one other ingredient (a fruit, I can't remember what).
As you probably know, wine is often not vegan, because it can be 'fined' with isinglass (or gelatine). That's probably something my aunt didn't know. The average person probably doesn't. I was already suspect of the nut roast itself, not knowing exactly what it is but presented as being OK for me to eat with the knowledge I am vegan. This made me even more suspicious because for all I know there could be another ingredient in it added in that my aunt didn't realise. She uses Pure margarine, but I don't know if she always does, for instance, maybe she'll whack a dollop of non-vegan margarine in it if she ran out?
Anyway, questions and information have already passed regarding this dish and I can hardly ask each time about it, asking every single ingredient. My mum said she probably makes it 'as she goes along'. BUT she knows what vegan means,
AARGH, somethings going wrong when i type a message of this length so Im going to carry it on in the next post.......
Although the effeminate nature of my username may suggest otherwise, my gender actually falls into the male category.