ORLYLOL tries to gain

A place for vegan athletes from all levels and sports to keep their training journals.

Moderators: hardcore iv, fredrikw, JP, stateofflux, bronco

ORLYLOL tries to gain

Postby ORLYLOL » Wed Oct 17, 2012 8:03 pm

Hi all! I'm a noob here and will do my best to keep an updated log here.

A bit of background first. I'm a skinny guy that has been trying to get strong and bulk at the same time. I've always been a bit underweight. I'm 6'1" (about 185cm) and weigh in at around 162lbs (73.5kg). At my lightest I was 143lbs (65kg) while being this height and was mostly skin and bones. Since then it's been slow progress gaining. I've been lifting for a couple of years now, but only seriously in the last year or so and I've only been really dedicated to gaining in the last couple of months.

Truthfully, my dedication to weight gain came when my wife and I were watching the new batman film and my wife turned to me and said, "if you could get that big, that would be awesome..." (speaking of Bane in the film). So my quest for bulk began! My typical day for food is:

Breakfast: Cereal with toast and peanut butter or tofurky slices
Pre-Workout Snack: Builder bar
Post-Workout: Shake (Chocolate Soy Milk w/ 2tbsp (30ml) of peanut butter and 1 scoop pea protein)
Lunch: Varies, usually dinner leftovers and sometimes a burrito (black beans, rice, guacomole salsa)
Afternoon snack: Peanut (or Almond) Butter and jelly sandwich + banana
Dinner: Varies, my wife is an amazing cook and does a great job with making hearty meals
After Dinner: Another shake as above (not every day usually)

Throughout the day I'll eat pumpkin seeds, peanuts, almonds or cashews as well. Dinner and lunch usually have a ton of vegetables so I'm getting whole foods in.

My current workout routine is a 5 day program with 4 days revolving around a main lift and then ancillary work:

Monday: