What should I do?

All other sports and activities not mentioned above!

Moderators: hardcore iv, bronco, fredrikw, JP, Rochellita

What should I do?

Postby McVegetable » Wed Mar 28, 2012 5:29 am

I'm just getting into this fitness stuff, and I'd like to learn some different things I can do; exercises mostly, I suppose.

I don't have access to a gym, machines, or any big weights. Not that I'd know how to use them anyway :]

However, I do have:
-Space to run
-2 5lb dumb bells, and 2 20lb dumb bells
-"Pull up thing" (Tree branches, haha!)
-Some crappy running shoes
-A lack of patience. Not sure if that's good or bad. Maybe both.

At the moment, I run, do pushups, attempt pullups, and do anything I can really think of with the dumb bells that doesn't seem to hurt.

Also; I don't really know any "proper forms" for most exercises, I've just kind of been winging it and hoping I don't hurt myself. Possibly due to impatience, haha

And information or tips would be greatly appreciated!
McVegetable

Re: What should I do?

Postby baldy » Wed Mar 28, 2012 8:03 am

The most important question is actually what do you enjoy doing and what are your goals.

This thread would be a good start with bodyweight stuff -> viewtopic.php?f=5&t=11695

20lb dumbbells are only really useful for curls.
"A wise man once said, "It's easier to buy smaller clothes, than to put on 5kg." ... Buzz
baldy
Site Admin

Postby Lordmuppet » Wed Mar 28, 2012 10:01 am

exrx and t-nation both have extensive libraries for lifting exercise form fyi
JS - They think it will open the door to folk like LordMuppet campaigning for a threeway?
Lordmuppet
Muppet Moderator

Postby ninearms » Wed Mar 28, 2012 11:12 am

a) Assess where you are at the moment (your Point A), and what your goal is (your Point B) (see this article by Dan John).

b) Find something you enjoy that fits in with your journey from Point A to Point B. If you don't know what you enjoy try out a few things and find out.