Advice on weightlifting regiment

Lifting weights whether for bodybuilding, toning, or just for general fitness.

Moderators: hardcore iv, fredrikw, JP, stateofflux, bronco

Advice on weightlifting regiment

Postby tylerm » Fri May 21, 2004 5:57 pm

Hello, this is my first post to this board, I have been reading it for a week or so.. I am 23, been a vegan for 3 or 4 years or so, vegetarian since I was 15 or 16. I have been running regularly for the past 2 years or so, and lifting weights at a local gym as well (on and off). Only recently have I felt that I have been really gaining strength and muscle, and I think it is due to the fact that at the beginning I had no idea what I was doing. I am 6'5" and about 190lbs, which is about what I originally started at, though I have been able to notice a large change in muscle mass compared to before.

I am looking for suggestions on a weekly routine, I typically work out 4 days a week, for perhaps 20 minutes of cardio then 40 minutes or a bit more of weight training. I have just recently started getting into some of the more major weight exercises and using more free weights, such as squats, benchpresses, dips, etc. In the past I hadn't worked out my legs much, as I run often, and are in good shape. However, sometimes I get pain around my knees after running long distances, so I want to build more muscle to help support them, which I figured squats would help. Also, I want to burn more fat, as I have a couple pounds that seem impossible to get off my stomach.

Any info on a good routine with major exercises or and websites with such info would be much appreciated

thanks!
Tyler
Cleveland, Ohio
tylerm

Re: Advice on weightlifting regiment

Postby Frostfire » Sat May 22, 2004 4:54 am

Hey Tyler!

Welcome to the board! I only have a few suggestions, because I'm still learning myself :D.