Vegan food in hotel chains?

Travel and location information for vegans, restaurant, hotel, B&B etc reviews. If you want to meet people from some area, post here.

Moderators: hardcore iv, fredrikw, JP, stateofflux

Vegan food in hotel chains?

Postby Hiking Fox » Sat Sep 05, 2009 8:02 pm

I've started having to travel and stay out overnight through work, and they'll be reserving places like Travelodge and Holiday Inn for me on such occasions.

I've never stayed at places like that before, having only ever camped, crashed on sofas or stayed at bed and breakfasts, so I'm wondering what people's experiences of such places are? Is the food as awful as I imagine? Do they do soya milk and have vegan options?

Any info/experiences to share?
Hiking Fox

Postby gauze » Sat Sep 05, 2009 8:09 pm

I used to work as a Holiday Inn waiter 6 years ago, and from memory, they can make a vegan meal but with a day or 2 warning, but it'll be awful (eg. plain potato with veg). 90% of the food there was packaged and reheated from a set menu.
"I've been doing a lot of running, swimming, cycling, well, I mean, you know how it is..."

-"NO. Actually I don't know, I play real sports, I'm not trying to be the best at exercising."
gauze

Postby chronyx » Sat Sep 05, 2009 8:11 pm

I wouldn't bother, just find a local supermarket!
chronyx

Postby JP » Sat Sep 05, 2009 8:17 pm

can get some breakfast though - and soya milk if you give them a warning?
JP
Site Admin

Postby tal » Sat Sep 05, 2009 8:24 pm

I had a look at the website for travelodge and holiday inn, but found them rather lacking in anything helpful.

I don't have any experience with them, but maybe send them an email or give them a call and see what the say.

The one thing the websites do list, is their impressive bars. So you could forgo the food altogether and get righteously sloshed. Problem solved :)
tal

Postby chronyx » Sat Sep 05, 2009 8:25 pm

Beer and peanuts, the breakfast of champions
chronyx