Half Marathon training question

For all kinds of running related discussions, from sprinting to marathon, training to equipment. Also the forum for international <a href="http://www.veganrunners.org">veganrunners.org</a> network.

Moderators: hardcore iv, fredrikw, JP, stateofflux, bronco

Half Marathon training question

Postby mdawsonclarke » Sun Jan 25, 2015 12:23 am

Hey guys hows it going :)

So, Ill get straight to the point. Im looking to run my fastest possible half marathon in 5 weeks time. This morning I ALMOST ran my first sub 20 minute 5km (in my defense, there was a bridge) which has got me thinking I can run a much faster half than I previously have. Now, Im fairly new to this whole running thing so I havnt got a lot of times to reference, but my very first race was a half and that was 2 months ago.. and I ran that in 1:49. But I think there is serious room for improvement there and am aiming for a sub 1:35.

The hard part is I only have 5 weeks to train for it.. 4 realistically with taper week at the end. Ive been following the Hal Higdon guides for my whole running experience and have grown rather fond of them. The guide to the half I will be following is linked below. The thing is, Ive been reading a bit about speed work (not intervals, but like.. sprint training or whatever youd call it) and feel like maybe incorporating more of that into my schedule will help me achieve the time reduction Im looking for?

So pretty much, I thought Id post here and see what everyone has to say about it :)

For MAXIMUM speed increase, how does this training plan stand up for the short period of time I have to actually use it? Also Id like not to injure myself (had a pretty close call on Monday) so.. theres that.

Anyway, heres the link http://www.halhigdon.com/training/51133 ... ng-Program

Thanks so much for your time everyone and I look forward to hearing your responses!
mdawsonclarke

Re: Half Marathon training question

Postby hakko » Sun Jan 25, 2015 11:50 pm