Motivation issues

For all kinds of running related discussions, from sprinting to marathon, training to equipment. Also the forum for international <a href="http://www.veganrunners.org">veganrunners.org</a> network.

Moderators: hardcore iv, fredrikw, JP, stateofflux, bronco

Motivation issues

Postby Lovely.Rita » Sun Sep 12, 2010 12:58 am

So, I've been running for a few years now, more or less consistently. It started first as a way to get exercise and clear my head, stay healthy, keep the weight reasonable, etc. Now it's definitely growing on me and I actually like the activity itself. Most of the time, that is. I imagine many runners have a love-hate relationship with running, and maybe this has been discussed on this forum before, perhaps many times, I don't know. Anyway, here's some of my bitching and whining:
It may be my personality with all my little insecurities and anxieties, plus a million external things I take too personally and let stress me out. sometimes it's really hard for me to convince myself that running is actually fun. or that i'm doing it because it feels good. I interact with a few other runners and we compare experiences with training and related stuff... they all seem so excited, enthusiastic, motivated, organized, disciplined... and for some reason that brings me down at times, rather than helping me stay motivated. I feel like I don't belong in the running community (if there is such a thing). there is this sense of pressure, that I'm expected to "deliver" or "perform" all the time, even if nobody's watching - but maybe that's just me bringing too much of the academic environment/stresses from my professional life into my personal life. interestingly, I seldom feel like I hate running itself, I just hate talking about it - i'd happily go for a run even in the "low" times, but talking about running upsets me.