Eating during night shift.

Any queries about vegan diet, nutrition, dieting, bulking and healthy eating in general. Diets and food from vegan perspective.

Moderators: hardcore iv, fredrikw, JP, stateofflux, bronco

Eating during night shift.

Postby sosso » Mon Mar 12, 2012 4:33 am

I'm a nurse and I will be starting night shifts in a few weeks. I have four in a row. The hours are 10pm - 7am.

I'm trying to work out when I'll sleep and eat. Should I not worry too much about it and just make sure I get all my meals and enough sleep during the 24 hours of each day? Does anyone here work nights and have a routine they stick to?
sosso

Re: Eating during night shift.

Postby VeganGraham » Mon Mar 12, 2012 7:24 am

Not night shifts as such, but I'm on a shift rota; 4:30am to 1:00pm or 4:00pm to midnight.
This means that to try to keep to a sort of sleeping at night, awake in the day routine, one week I've got; work > sleep > free time, the next I've got work > free time > sleep.

From speaking to other people who have worked nights, I think your biggest decision working 10pm to 7am is going to be whether you sleep 8am to 4pm or 1pm to 9pm.
We've only got basic canteen facilities at work, a toaster and microwave, so I generally have a breakfast type meal when I get up (3am or 9am), a big cooked meal at home (2pm or 7pm) and snacks and packed lunch at work (10am or 8pm).
Worcestershire's fastest veteran vegan mountain bike endurance racer with a beard.
Angry Middle Aged Man
VeganGraham

Location: The banks of the River Severn as it meanders through the sun dappled leafy glades of Worcestershire

Postby knackers » Tue Mar 13, 2012 3:09 am

I used to work shift quite frequently, a lot the time it was back and forth though like d/d/n/n/n or d/d/n/n but occasionally I would have the fun 4-5 nights in a row...