Cyclocross

If cycling of any kind, from leisure to endurance, is your passion, this is the forum for you.

Moderators: hardcore iv, fredrikw, JP, stateofflux, bronco

Cyclocross

Postby Is it really so strange? » Thu Oct 21, 2010 2:23 pm

I'm just curious if anyone here races cyclocross?

I just started this season and I'm absolutely in love with the sport. While I really enjoy road cycling, the balls-out all conditions style of racing is a lot more fun and it really improves your bike handling skills.
Is it really so strange?

Re: Cyclocross

Postby JohnBarleycorn » Thu Oct 21, 2010 3:58 pm

I couldn't cope with having to clean the bikes after every race. Cyclocross in Britain is usually run off in deep mud. I'm not good at cleaning bikes. Idle !
I eat to nourish my compassion, not my greed

I'm the man they couldn't kill ! I cannot be destroyed with conventional weapons !

And probably the former fastest British Vegan 10, 25 and 50 mile TT rider. Probably.
JohnBarleycorn

Postby Is it really so strange? » Thu Oct 21, 2010 8:19 pm

Pssh, Cleaning with a hose takes about 10 minutes.... Just use a good lube on the drive train and every things fine. We've lucked out this year in New England in regards to muddy conditions, but bikes still get pretty dirty. A lot of people here are using singlespeed bikes for sloppy conditions so the drivetrain doesn't get clogged
Is it really so strange?

Postby Mr. Cleetus » Fri Oct 22, 2010 12:10 am

I did a few cyclocross races here this past season (spring here now). I had a blast even tho I was pretty bad at it! I did a couple of them on a single speed and really enjoyed it - mostly because it weighed half as much as mine which was helpful when shouldering it for the 100th barrier. We had some dry and some incredibly muddy. mud is good. :)
Mr. Cleetus

Postby bob_summers » Fri Oct 22, 2010 9:20 am