Billy-Reno wrote:Now to me vegetarian=vegan. lacto-vegetarian=plants + dairy. Ovo-vegetarian=plants + eggs. If you start including additions to plants then vegetarian simply means one who eats plants, which is all of us. A steak eater is a vegetarian when s/he's having their blue-cheese/ranch infested salad because they are eating plants. They are carni-vegitarian, plants + red meat. So the word is basically meaningless unless applied as someone who eats plants only.
I'm convinced it was the uber-rich dairy foundations that tried to convince the world that those who identified with being a vegetarian eater included dairy consumers. [url=http://www.gotmilk.com/#/health-benefits]
37 years is impressive, especially because I don't imagine it being an easy thing to do 37 years ago...
Just look at the propaganda and the absurd expense the CA Milk Processor Board went to here.[/url]
I've always found this interesting, vegetarian should be someone that doesn't include anything but plants in their diet, and vegans are supposed to go even further than that, clothes, any other product, and also probably some form or other of activism. But it has become the norm that ovo and/or lacto are what everybody knows as vegetarians and it is frustrating, a lot of people don't even know what a vegan is so if they ask what you eat and you explain that you are a "strict" vegetarian, (although I don't see why the strict should be needed), then you always end up with eggs or tuna on your plate...so when eating out of at a friends house it is always necessary to give lots of explanations to make sure you won't find anything awful in your plate.
Some people even think chicken is ok on a vegetarian diet and fish of course...since when do they grow on trees?
Also another frustrating thing is...if you become a vegetarian for ethical reasons...why are all vegetarian books/restaurants plagued with eggs and dairy? Sometimes it is harder to find a vegan dish on a vegetarian restaurant than in a normal one...